notes from the road

what have I done???

On Wednesday I did my first shift at a community radio station of my very own show. I was a little nervous, but once I settled in I really quite enjoyed chatting away into the black spit protecting screen covering the microphone. I mentioned some interesting things that I saw in the newspaper, I had a segment called Laws of the World, I adlibbed at times better than I thought I would and only once did I press the wrong button. Yet when I finished I felt just a little bit empty.

            I was quite proud of what I did, but I had absolutely nothing to show for it. I could not hold up the work that I had done over the last three hours and I couldn’t even talk to anyone that had heard it as the station didn’t broadcast into any area that I knew people in. This got me thinking on the drive home though – was I doing it to hear myself on the radio, or for other people to hear me? Or was I doing it because I like the medium and communicating with people? As I’ve said earlier in this blog, I think that the best communication is two way, so it would be more beneficial to hear back from someone that heard it, but this is not the only reason for doing it.

            When I’m fencing with my Dad on the farm the most satisfying thing after a hard days work is to look back and see a fence where there wasn’t one before and to know that you’ve put it there. With radio work though, I have to seek gratification from it in some other way. I have no idea how many people are actually listening but perhaps this is where the beauty lies, because it is quite a hoot imagining that I am talking to thousands of people, when in reality it may not actually be anyone. So perhaps not having any rock hard evidence of what I’ve done is actually a positive.

Leave a Reply

