notes from the road

I’m presenting my thoughts…

Right now I am seven weeks away from finishing my University career – scary hey?! When I pictured my life a couple of years back I really had thought that I’d know exactly what I wanted to do, and would already be making strong in-roads into it. Now though, I’ve got so many ideas of what I could get my head stuck into that I’m not sure which one to pursue first. I analyze each one – Would it be worthwhile? Would I be happy? Would it make other people happy? Would I be able to see my family? Is it an area that I am really qualified for? Will it be long term? Will I have to wear a tie done up all day? Yet while trying to sort out my direction in life, I’m also riding wave after wave of University and Internship work that just seems to get more and more demanding – add to that maintaining some semblance of a social life and I feel like I will just implode. Individually all of these things are really enjoyable, but together it can get over whelming. Infact recently I caught myself telling someone that I just couldn’t wait for the next few weeks to be over. This really shook me into line and reminded me of the movie ‘Click’ with Adam Sandler where he fast forwarded difficult parts of his life and came to regret it. This then reminded me of a quote by John Lennon (who has a bit more street cred than Adam Sandler) that says that life is what happens while we are busy making plans. So I’m really going to try and live for the present as much as I can, while still keeping my ideas for the future on smouldering in the back corner of my mind – because the future might never happen, but I’m pretty sure that the present is here right now.

One response

  1. Matilda

    Good for you. Hang in there. Things have a way of working out anyway.

    27,September, 2008 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

