notes from the road

traffic and accidents

Day: Thursday

Time: Night

Event: I was invited to a Bahai event at a friends friends house in Hollywood so I decided to drive there that night in my friends beetle armed with some instructions that I wrote down from the net and a mobile that I decided to bring as an afterthought. I got a bit lost going there, and very lost coming back. Lost to the point of having absolutly no idea where I was or how I was going to get back. After a little while of asking people at servos and calling a friend, and lucky guesses I managed to make it home. And when I arrived home I hugged people and touched walls to make sure it was all real and that I wasn’t dreaming… I drove for over 3 and a half hours – truly an authentic way to see and experience LA – though I hope I don’t have to do it again.

Highlight: Asking two different service station workers and a homeless person how to get back to Santa Monica and getting given three different direction to go…This is when it started to really sink in that I was in trouble.

Day: Saturday

Time: 9:30am to 10:30pm

Event:  Visiting Six flags (a giant theme park) with Ryan, Larry and Joe. There were the craziest roller coasters that I have ever been on, and also the craziest waiting times – one lasting 2 hours. But we filled the time in with much merriment. Joe was on crutches which was hard for him, but it helped us make some money. The queues were covered by shade cloth, upon which were many coins. We used Joe’s crutch to push $4.20 worth off over the whole day – enough to buy us a cookie and icecream sandwhich from Diddy Rheese on the way home.

Highlight: Joe had just bought himself an icecream as we were walking over to our next ride, but it was along way away, so I decided to carry him on my back. Ryan who was holding Joe’s ice-cream decided that now that Joe didn’t have any crutches, this would be an optimum time to offer joe a bite. Yet while Ryan was feeding Joe some spilt on his arm, Larry then offered to clean it up. It was here that a 13 or so year old boy walked past us and muttered  ‘Well that’s not gay at all…” . Fair call we thought.

One response

  1. hiiiiiiilarious.

    31,March, 2009 at 12:56 pm

Leave a Reply

