notes from the road

Working for a bed

08/04/09

Well I achieved two of the three things that I had set out for myself to do today, and that ain’t bad I say. I have successfully moved into the new Hostel, got my computer fixed but haven’t been able to do my laundry – I’ll save that one for tomorrow. I am currently near the end of my first shift of work and it has just hit three in the morning. I am doing laundry and it is a piece of cake – I’d say 70% of the time I can just do what I want to, play on the computer, read a book or chat to fellow travellers. The rest of the time I am loading, unloading or folding. I was at first dissapointed that I didn’t get to go on front desk, but not now. The place seems cool enough too. I’m staying in a room with seven other workers here and it is bigger than my last hostel, and the mattresses are also much thicker.
I’m tossing up now whether I will get a part time job or just focuss on getting a full time one. Hmm, I don’t think I’ll ponder it too much now, might hit the hay.

Leave a Reply

