notes from the road

Brussels – sprouting with opportunities!

10/01/10
Staying with Alison was fantastic just as it was last time. We stayed up until twelve o’clock talking about a whole range of things. I had my phone interview and it felt alright, but the result was better than I had expected. They would pay me to come and check out the place next Thursday (150 euros to cover travel costs) and to ‘finalise’ contract and accommodation. Yew!
I heard from Leila Emerson who is the daughter of the man who I had been in contact with about staying with in Brussels. She was in London and wondered if I would like to meet up. I did, and we had a cup of tea at her apartment with her brother just near Victoria station.
I then caught the bus to Brussels and arrived at 5:30 in the morning. There was much snow outside and I was hampered by my backpack. I sat in the bus station on a cold bench before finding a coffee shop on the next floor up where I warmed up a bit while reading a book. I managed to find the Emerson’s address quite easily and have been with them since. I am a bit overwhelmed with how generous they are being to someone who they don’t even really know. I am staying in one room of the six story flat/house and they gave me lunch and dinner. Shogi and Cafelli (their son and friend who is staying here too) and I took a sled and warm clothes (lent to me by Dale) to a park and played around in the snow and walked on top of a frozen pond. Tomorrow I am going to work with Conchetta, Dale’s wife, to have a chat with her boss who runs a language school. Although I am pretty set on the job in Nancy (the only downer being that it doesn’t have the most vibrant Bahai community), it would be good to assess the job situation here.
Leave a Reply

